top of page
  • Writer's pictureJerilyn Harper

My 2023 Hair Journey

Ever since my liberation, aka me cutting off my hair for the first time (Read until the end to a flashback of me being that girl!), I have been obsessed with cutting my hair whenever I grow frustrated. Couldn’t figure out how to style it? Cut it. Couldn’t you mimic that hairstyle I saw on Pinterest? Cut it.




Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with cutting your hair, but I was cutting my hair out of what seemed to be a place of frustration and anxiety. It was like my hair was the perfect guy that I kept pushing away, not taking the chance to get to know him because he was confusing *in a good way. But this year, 2023, it is on my vision board to change my relationship with my hair.


I want to do more natural styles and use more natural extensions like braids and kanekalon hair, and all that we know is the Asian beauty supply store on the corner near you. This idea was ignited because of a Netflix binge-watch of the series “ Family Reunion “ The hair for the season really gave. “I love my black hair and know how to wear it.” I was in awe of the hairstyles I saw. It was more like the art I was watching. I became invested in the hairstyles as much as the episode’s plot. I want to be that, and I want to be proud of the divisibility of black hair, especially in unconventional spaces.


So I have dedicated myself to finding Pinterest inspiration photos (And creating some of my own!) of natural hairstyles that I will recreate on myself. We have styles ranging from ponytails, Bantu knots, and the black power afro. Join me for a few frustrated tears, trips to the beauty supply store, and a glass of patience.


Check out my favorite hair looks from Family Reunion (See below)

A picture of me being that girl!




4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page